The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 10th, 2024, 9:10pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
digital calibration of pipelined ADCs (Read 2874 times)
vivkr
Community Fellow

digital calibration of pipelined ADCs
Sep 14th, 2005, 8:07am

Hi all,

I am new to digital calibration stuff, and would appreciate if someone could provide some tips on this. I have a huge collection of JSSC papers on this topic, and there are several different schemes mentioned.

If someone has used any of these, then I would appreciate some feedback about ease of use, design overhead and recommended techniques (the ones which you feel are the best suited for high-resolution conversion).

Thanks
Vivek

View Profile   IP Logged
jbdavid
Community Fellow

Silicon Valley
Re: digital calibration of pipelined ADCs
Reply #1 - Oct 3rd, 2005, 10:59pm

Well, since you are at Oregon State.. I'll mention what I have discovered so far..
1. There is a part of the circuit - often called digital correction (which isn't "correcting" anything.. just doing the right timing alignment and summation) that is NOT part of the digital calibration loop..  its just part of the basic pipelined ADC..
2. there are a bunch of Calibration schemes..
off the top of my head.. many of them require access to the ADC between actual conversions.. or at startup..
- the simplest is one that has a memory.. that uses the output of the ADC to address a RAM - with the output being the "Calibrated value" (or a correction term easily added to the calibration value)..
Keep reading - (after a while I find key ideas easier to find as I gain familiarity with the source materiall) ..
and keep in mind the requirements of your application.
--