The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 1st, 2024, 4:37am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
CMOS I/O series termination load line (Read 2402 times)
Croaker

CMOS I/O series termination load line
Jun 11th, 2006, 6:15am

I'm studying I/O and I'm a bit confused about the CMOS I/O scheme.  It is series terminated by the resistances of the N or PMOS.  

In one book they draw a load line for the transmission line along with the NMOS I vs. Vds curve for Vgs=Vdd.  The load line is the same as you would get if you had a load of Z0 in a common source amp (a straight line with I=Vdd/Z0 @ Vds=0 and I=0 @ Vds=Vdd).  Certainly I understand this for a CS amp, but not for the transmission line.

My issue is that I don't see how you get a current of Vdd/Z0 when the voltage at the NMOS end of the line is 0.  For this line, aren't the reflections always supposed to make the current zero, since it is an open-ended line?  How do they get the load line for the trans. line to be the same as a resistive load with one end connected to Vdd?

Oh, the goal of doing the load line is to find the point where the NMOS drain output is Vdd/2 when Vgs=Vdd.  The idea is to launch a Vdd/2 wave and then have the reflection come back and make Vds=0.

Thanks,
Marc

View Profile   IP Logged
mikki33
Community Member

Analog/Mixed
Signal/High Speed

Israel
Re: CMOS I/O series termination load line
Reply #1 - Jun 11th, 2006, 9:08am

I think I can help, but I didn't understand the question...

If you don't have time to do it good
you will find time to do it again
View Profile   IP Logged
Croaker

Reply #2 - Jun 11th, 2006, 10:24am

mikki33 wrote on Jun 11th, 2006, 9:08am:
I think I can help, but I didn't understand the question...

I figured that would happen... Cry  My apologies!