The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 23rd, 2024, 2:12pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
corners (Read 2808 times)
grosser
Community Member

corners
Aug 14th, 2006, 12:51am

hello

i have no experience so share it with me please

Which corners i should setup in the simulation?
i did typical 27, ss 125, ff -40, what else?

if simulation pass corner analysis and i do monte carlo afterthat, how can i correct the results?
how to find most sensitive transistors which deteriorates circuit behavior?

The next thing is the reference current. For low power design what current value i should design the current reference. What is better 10uA and multiply it only by 2 for the opamp and divide by 10 for other circuits or 1uA and multiply by 20 for opamp??  

regards

View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Re: corners
Reply #1 - Aug 14th, 2006, 12:08pm

The most common corners are Process, Voltage and Temperature (PVT)

A couple things:

Temperature needs to be run from cold (lowest environement temp) to hot (highest environement temperature PLUS the internal self heating of the chip as per wattage and thermal package model)

Voltage - I always suggest that people design initially using a voltage slightly less (say 5%) than the minimum power supply voltage. I can not counbt the number of times I have seen a designer do design at nominal power and then have the circuits turning off (or messed up bias in one form or another) when they test the low voltage corner.

Process - These corners are a bit of a nuisnace - the "TT" "SS" "FF" etc (probably TSMC models?) need to also be run in the "SF" and "FS" corners as well. When the PMONS/NMOS mismatch, sometimes you run into issues as well. Also, you have resistors, capacitors, etc in the process that lead to additional corners requiring a look see.