The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 10th, 2024, 11:14pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
noise model of ota (Read 1341 times)
parthsv

noise model of ota
Jan 14th, 2007, 8:47am

Hi All,
I am building a pipeline ADC and in order to verify certain aspects of the ADC i have built a verilogA model of the ADC. I need to incorporate thermal noise of the opamp/comparator of each stage of pipeline and I am new to noise modelling in verilogA. Can anyone here please give me directions on how to proceed in verilogA?
 Thanks in Advance.

View Profile   IP Logged
Geoffrey_Coram
Senior Fellow

Massachusetts, USA
Re: noise model of ota
Reply #1 - Jan 15th, 2007, 5:19am

Are you planning to run a noise/pnoise simulation (in which case you can use white_noise()), or do you need to implement something that will work in a transient analysis?

If at first you do succeed, STOP, raise your standards, and stop wasting your time.
View Profile WWW   IP Logged
parthsv

Reply #2 - Jan 15th, 2007, 9:46pm

Hi,
Thanks for your respone. I need to include thermal noise in transient analysis.

View Profile   IP Logged
Visjnoe

Reply #3 - Jan 16th, 2007, 12:45am

Dear parthsv,

To include thermal (white noise) into your transient simulation, you have several options:

1. If you have access to ELDO, you can include noise sources (ELDO primitives) into your schematics.
   They will inject noise during transient analysis.

2. Otherwise, generate a random number stream (using MATLAB or an AHDL) and include this into your
   simulation. Make sure that you control the noise power well in this case by using a fixed time step!
   If you want  'shaped'  (e.g. 1/f) noise, pass the random number stream through a digital filter.

Kind Regards

Peter

View Profile   IP Logged
parthsv

Reply #4 - Jan 16th, 2007, 5:30am

Hi Visjnoe,