The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Oct 1st, 2024, 3:27pm
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Help on opamp design (Read 4884 times)
Vabzter

Sweden
Help on opamp design
Feb 07th, 2007, 11:16pm

Hi all,
        I am new to analog design as was wondering how do experienced analog designers design their circuits. For e.g take a 2 stage opamp...

1. In school they gave us the process parameters(un,cox,vth,..) for .35um process. But if you are designing for 90nm technology how to find these values.One way I know is to put the transistor in triode region and plot Id vs Vgs.I get the slope from that graph and by this eqn  Slope = k * W/L* Vds I can find the value of k. Is this method correct?

2. How to design if one does not know un,Cox values?

3. Is there any generalized method to design a 2 stage opamp?

Thanks
BR
Vabzter

View Profile   IP Logged
Croaker

Re: Help on opamp design
Reply #1 - Feb 8th, 2007, 5:13am

The short answer is that none of the square-law equations work, but you can use them to figure out the basic operating principles.  Small-signal stuff is always true for design, but you need a simulator to get actual values, e.g. ro, gm.

CMOS Analog Design by Allen has a general procedure.  That might be useful, but having a detailed spec is the starting point.

View Profile   IP Logged
topquark
Community Member

Thames Valley, UK
Reply #2 - Feb 8th, 2007, 6:00am

Also, take a look at Berkeley's course
http://bwrc.eecs.berkeley.edu/classes/ee140/

You've also got webcast lectures where there's a nice discussion of a real-world project- a 2-stage op amp design.
It goes through all practical stuff including simulator pitfalls, hand calculations and design trade-offs

Good Luck!

Gau

View Profile   IP Logged
Vabzter

Sweden
Reply #3 - Feb 8th, 2007, 7:23am

Hi,