The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 19th, 2024, 12:48am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
questions about the transient response of a pll (Read 4674 times)
calven

questions about the transient response of a pll
Jul 03rd, 2007, 7:27am

hi!
 i am a freshman in pll design.i have designed a pll in transistor level.the simulation tool is spectre.the voltage domain model corresponding to the first waveform is implemented with veriloga presented as a comparision,and the simulation time is 30u.the circuit corresponding to the second waveform is implemented with transistors,and the simulation time is 3u.according to the waveform,we can see that the waveform settles to a ripple(and the curve is not a line,but at some instant the curve has different values).it is more obvious in the third figure,which is a part of the second figure zoomed out.what cause this?
 additionally,the ripple will last for a long time.i have simulated the circuit with the simulation time of 50u.the amplitude of the ripple maybe decreases,but not apparently.however,the ripple of the veriloga model  decrease quickly.the veriloga model and the transistor circuit basiclly have the same parameters,and what is the reason?
 give me some explanation and advice,please.thanks a lot.i am sorry that i can not upload the image bigger
best regards

pll-veriloga.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
calven

Re: questions about the transient response of a pl
Reply #1 - Jul 3rd, 2007, 7:55am

the second figure is as follows:

pll-transistor.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
calven

Reply #2 - Jul 3rd, 2007, 7:56am

the third figure is as follows:

pll-vctrl.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Reply #3 - Jul 3rd, 2007, 2:06pm