The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 30th, 2024, 2:26pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Specifications of regulators in SOC (Read 4119 times)
hanm

Specifications of regulators in SOC
Jul 26th, 2007, 1:39am

Hello experts:
I have question on how to define the regulator specifications(especially parameters such as psrr, noise etc.) in SOC. For example, this regulator may be used in a 2.4G transceiver, the IF is 2MHz, and the digital circuits run at a clock frequency 16MHz. So I think the most critical psrr request must ocuur at those frequency points, I guess. But how degree the value is, and what's the general sence of the value?
Any comments are welcome!

hanm

View Profile   IP Logged
HdrChopper
Community Fellow

Re: Specifications of regulators in SOC
Reply #1 - Jul 26th, 2007, 6:55pm

Hi Hanm,

I'm not an expert, but from my experience I can tell you some points I would consider during the regulator's design phase:

1) Output impedance over frequency. This is related to what you mentioned as critical frequencies for the regulator performance. I should look for the lowest output impedance possible, and in particular at those frequencies of interest. Therefore, the regulator's loop will have to be as wide-band as possible --> that will compromise your stability though. So there is a clear trade-off between stability and output impedance.

2) PSRR can be quantified by applying an ac source on the regulator line and looking at how much attenuation do you get over frequency in the regulated line. Again a wider regulator will guarantee better rejection at high frequency but compromise stability. The PSRR performance will be also compromised as the supply voltage get closer to the regulated voltage, that is your worst case condition.
I usually use -40 to -60dB of attenuation at DC, but that depends on the type of regulated circuits and how much noise they generate.