The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 18th, 2024, 4:50am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
pll simulation using phase domain models (Read 94 times)
rfmems

pll simulation using phase domain models
Mar 31st, 2008, 2:03am

Hi all,

I am new to verilog-A simulation of pll. When I read Ken's "Predicting the phase noise and jitter of pll-based frequency synthesizers", in the VCO model

Theta(out)<+2*'M_PI*gain*idt(V(in))

So here the Theta(out) will increase infinitely unless V(in) is zero,  then small signal simulatoin doesnot work, how can I solve this problem?

Another question is, I converted all the simulated block phase noise (dBc/Hz) into "power" by 10^(L/10) and then input them into noise table, is that the right way to do it?

Thanks a lot
chenyan

View Profile   IP Logged
pancho_hideboo
Senior Fellow

Real Homeless
Re: pll simulation using phase domain models
Reply #1 - Mar 31st, 2008, 7:39am

rfmems wrote on Mar 31st, 2008, 2:03am:
Hi all,
I am new to verilog-A simulation of pll. When I read Ken's "Predicting the phase noise and jitter of pll-based frequency synthesizers", in the VCO model
Theta(out)<+2*'M_PI*gain*idt(V(in))
So here the Theta(out) will increase infinitely unless V(in) is zero,  then small signal simulatoin doesnot work, how can I solve this problem?

Use "idtmod()".

rfmems wrote on Mar 31st, 2008, 2:03am:
Another question is, I converted all the simulated block phase noise (dBc/Hz) into "power" by 10^(L/10) and then input them into noise table, is that the right way to do it?

Maybe it works.

« Last Edit: Mar 31st, 2008, 11:59am by pancho_hideboo »  
View Profile WWW Top+Secret Top+Secret   IP Logged
rfmems

Reply #2 - Apr 1st, 2008, 12:10am

Thanks a lot! pancho_hideboo.

Yes, I think idtmod will work, but we have to do pss+pnoise right? And we will use again 2 frequencies, one reference and one vco.