The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 6th, 2024, 5:10pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Predicting spurs in PLL frequency synthesizers (Read 64 times)
Gines

Predicting spurs in PLL frequency synthesizers
Apr 17th, 2008, 1:56am

Hi friends,

I am a beginner RF designer and I have implemented a PLL frequency synthesizer at 2.5GHz with a 2.5MHz clock reference and 30kHz loop bandwidth. During testing I have detected a great number of spurs within the whole bandwidth of interest from 30kHz up to 10MHz offset from the carrier. Although references harmonics at multiples of 2.5MHz are no-significant, the spur amplitudes are always about 20dB over the phase noise floor.

The justification of this behaviour is out of my knowledge. In this sense, I wonder,

1.- Could these spurs be caused  by the non-idealities of the charge-pump (output resistance, mismatching,…) or the integer frequency divider (8/9 prescaler, 120-program counter and 5-bit swallow counter)?. If this is the case, is there any simulation method or analytical procedure to predict such behaviour?. I have revised the literature but I have not found any solution.

2.- Could the test setup produce these effects?

Thank you very much in advance.
Gines

View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Re: Predicting spurs in PLL frequency synthesizers
Reply #1 - Apr 17th, 2008, 2:58pm

some more details on your circuit architecture and similar details would be helpful to people trying to answer your questions.

For example - is this a ring oscillator or LC VCO structure?
What are your circuits schematics?
Any and all details like that are informative as a starting point.

Also, you talk of "testing" and then ask about if its in the simulator. Is this lab testing of silicon or looking at the results of simulations?