The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 17th, 2024, 8:28pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
LDO design (Read 8798 times)
spanandiyer1979

LDO design
Oct 29th, 2008, 11:45am

hi

i have to design a low drop out regulator with an input voltage range of 2.8+/-10% , output voltage of 1.8V and a load current of 10mA to 50mA.I am new to LDO design. Can anybody let me know the design methodology for this ldo. i mean from the system specs , down to the amplifier specs etc. any pointers would be helpful.

thanks
anand

View Profile   IP Logged
buddypoor
Community Fellow

Bremen, Germany
Re: LDO design
Reply #1 - Oct 29th, 2008, 12:35pm

Hi spanandiyer1979,

I donīt know your technical/theoretical background - therefore, please excuse me if I tell you something what you already know.
Searching in the internet you certainly will find a lot of papers, contributions and documents about LDOīs.
However, my recommendation is, before starting with LDO design to become familiar with the basics of control theory.

A LDO is a system with feedback, which is designed based on certain rules derived from control theory. At least you should know what the following terms mean (hopefully I didnīt forget something):

Positive/negative feedback, stability, loop gain, stability/phase margin,
Bode and Nyquist diagrams, pole/zero distribution and their relationship to the dynamic properties of a system,....

Regards and good luck.
Buddypoor

LvW (buddypoor: In memory of the great late Buddy Rich)
View Profile   IP Logged
spanandiyer1979

Reply #2 - Oct 30th, 2008, 11:28am

Hi Buddypoor

I have a good background on electrical engineering and I am used to designing PLLs. So I am familiar with the things you mentioned. I was looking at obtaining a design methodology for a fully integrated LDO(meaning no external capacitance at the output) with the specifications mentioned.