The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 19th, 2024, 3:22pm
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
SHA Stability (Read 2804 times)
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

SHA Stability
Jan 06th, 2009, 11:50pm

Hi all,

I'm completely new to mixed signal design, and i have a couple of questions about this SHA. The opamps were implemented using single stage differential pairs with current mirror loads.

1) When I simulate this circuit without compensation, it is unstable. However, the best place I can see to stabilize the circuit is exactly where CHOLD is. If I increase CHOLD, i assume it will affect the maximum sampling rate...Any suggestions?

2) This is related to (1)...how do we decide the value of CHOLD? I guess it is related to the number of bits required. So a cap accumulates noise equal to kT/C right? Assume 1pF, then kT/C=4nV2. Therefore LSB/2 = 0.063mV and maximum no of bits for full scale of 1 V = 13 bits. Does that sound right?

3) Assuming the op amps are infinitely fast, is it correct to say that the sampling rate here is limited by the R of the switches and CHOLD?

Lastly, as i'm completely new to this, I would appreciate any suggestions on how to start on on this huge topic (ADC design). I figured I would read up on SHAs then move on to comparators...Any useful references would be great too.

thanks,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
vivkr
Community Fellow

Re: SHA Stability
Reply #1 - Jan 7th, 2009, 4:38am

Hi Aaron,

A couple of comments:

You can start out reading the chapter on sample-and-holds in the text by Johns & Martin.
I think that one has a decent overview of the subject.

Regarding your question (2), yes! the noise is a function of C, but it is probably not going to be just (kT/C) since some opamp noise is also being sampled onto the C now.