The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 2:28pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
multiple power supply and connect module (Read 2563 times)
rajdeep

UK
multiple power supply and connect module
Oct 07th, 2009, 1:37am

Hi,

I have an AMS design with 2 power domains, 5V and 1.8V. Now is it possible to tell the AMS tool to place connect modules judiciously i.e. place different connect modules for signals in different domains.
By different connect modules I mean with differen threshold (Vih, Voh etc.) levels.

It sounds crazy!! But I guess it is a very common problem. Im sure there should be some work around.
Would really appreciate if someone helps.

Im very new to AMS Designer, moving from spectreVerilog...at last!

Thanks,
Rajdeep

Design is fun, verification is a requirement.
View Profile   IP Logged
Riad KACED
Community Member

Swindon, UK
Re: multiple power supply and connect module
Reply #1 - Oct 7th, 2009, 1:27pm

Hi Rajdeep,

Yes this is very possible with AMS Designer. I could tell a few things on how to run this feature but the best for you is to look at following couple of Docs.

1. From the IC stream (my version is 5.10.41.500.6.138).
There is a PDF file called 'Workshop for AMSD Virtuoso Use Model'. Chapter 5 in this workshop is dedicated to what your are asking. The great thing about it is that you can go through the design database and exercise this topic on a real design, not just reading  the manual.

2. If you fancy reading the manuals, then the 'Virtuoso® AMS Designer Simulator User Guide' is all what you need. Again chapter 10 'Designing with Multiple Power Supplies' (in my IUS  08.20-s016) explains it all.

Hope this helps you for a good start !

Cheers  :)
Riad.

Riad KACED
PDK, EDA Support Engineer.
View Profile   IP Logged
rajdeep

UK
Reply #2 - Oct 8th, 2009, 2:06am

Thanks Riad!