The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 26th, 2024, 3:00pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
increase power efficiency in an amplifier circuit (Read 3068 times)
mustakhim

increase power efficiency in an amplifier circuit
Mar 09th, 2010, 4:20am

hye guys,

I'm builiding an amplifier circuit using resistors and OPAMP(LM741). I already got everything about it, but I'm also asked to waste as little power as possible. Is there any solution for this. It seems like a very stupid question. I'm new to designing analog circuit.

Thanks in advance for any help.

View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Re: increase power efficiency in an amplifier circuit
Reply #1 - Mar 9th, 2010, 2:13pm

You are doing a board level design with an op-amp chip?

Hmmm...

The 741 has been around since before most people here were born. I would start by looking into a modern op-amp that does not waste a lot of power.

do some component searching:
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?WT.z_homepage_link=hp_Produ...

Go here:
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Cat=2556125&k=opamp

That's a start. Beyond that, need to know more about what you are trying to design.

Jerry Twomey
www.effectiveelectrons.com
Read My Electronic Design Column Here
Contract IC-PCB-System Design - Analog, Mixed Signal, RF & Medical
View Profile WWW   IP Logged
mustakhim

Reply #2 - Mar 9th, 2010, 2:37pm

I should use the LM741. It is the requirement. The purpose is not to make a fully power efficient circuit, but it only want to reduce the power consumption. Got any idea on how to do it? Thanks

View Profile   IP Logged
vivkr
Community Fellow

Reply #3 - Mar 10th, 2010, 3:12am

mustakhim wrote on Mar 9th, 2010, 4:20am:
hye guys,