The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 1:42pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Coherent and noncoherent receiver (Read 2577 times)
T3N

Coherent and noncoherent receiver
Jul 19th, 2010, 12:41am

Hi all,

I've just joined this forum a few days ago and I am a newbie in RF design. Hope that I can learn a lot from you guys. Currently, I am reading on system design topics. The book I am reading is RF microelectronics by Razavi. Based on what I learn, there are basically three types of receiver: zero-IF, low-If and heterodyne. In Razavi’s book – “Digital modulation” chapter, he classifies the receiver in to two types: coherent and non-cohenrent. Detection schemes that require phase synchronization are called “coherent”.

So this is my question. If a zero-IF or low-IF has I and Q path, does it require a phase synchronization to avoid the start-up phase uncertainty of the oscillator? And in the case it requires a phase synchronization, will it be classified as a coherent receiver as well?

Thank you.
T3N

View Profile   IP Logged
pancho_hideboo
Senior Fellow

Real Homeless
Re: Coherent and noncoherent receiver
Reply #1 - Jul 24th, 2010, 11:39pm

T3N wrote on Jul 19th, 2010, 12:41am:
If a zero-IF or low-IF has I and Q path, does it require a phase synchronization to avoid the start-up phase uncertainty of the oscillator?
No.

T3N wrote on Jul 19th, 2010, 12:41am:
And in the case it requires a phase synchronization, will it be classified as a coherent receiver as well?
Yes.

Whether it is Coherent-scheme or Noncoherent-scheme is a matter of signal detection.
It is no relation to frequency conversion scheme such as  zero-IF, low-If and heterodyne.

Note : low-IF is no more than heterodyne and zero-IF is homodyne.
But sometimes there is a case where homodyne means zero-IF with coherent detection.

« Last Edit: Jul 25th, 2010, 3:17am by pancho_hideboo »