The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 16th, 2024, 9:25am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
analog module instantiation in Verilog AMS (Read 63032 times)
priyanka

analog module instantiation in Verilog AMS
Dec 03rd, 2010, 8:13am

Hi,

I am a beginner at Verilog AMS and need some help with analog module instanitation.

I would like to know how to instantiate a module with analog disciplines (such as electrical ) multiple times. I use a 'generate' construct for this purpose. However, the simulator gives an error as follows:
"<Module name> has got declared analog discipline "electrical". Use of analog element inside Generate statement is not yet supported"

Please let me know how can I have multiple instantiations for an analog block.

Thank You!

View Profile   IP Logged
jerome_ams
Community Member

Re: analog module instantiation in Verilog AMS
Reply #1 - Dec 3rd, 2010, 8:53am

Hi,

As far as I know, you do not it to use any generate syntax to instantiate analog blocks.
Do you want to instantiate them within "if - else" statements?
Can you tell a bit more about your code/intentions?

Cheers,
Jerome

View Profile   IP Logged
priyanka

Reply #2 - Dec 3rd, 2010, 9:08am

Hi,

There are no if-else statements. I have a basic module called "tdc" which is analog in nature. My system contains several TDCs (in the order of hundreds) and it would be tough to declare them manually. Therefore, I use 'generate' construct.

I need to process the outputs of all TDCs and my signal t_out is used for this purpose. My intention is to analyze few parameters at system level.  But I am not able to instantiate the TDC block several times at the top level.

My code snippet is as follows:

wire [0:79] t_out;

generate
genvar q;
for(q=0; q < 10; q = q+1) begin: I_mod
       tdc  t0 (.start(start), .stop(stop), .out(t_out[8*q : (8*q + 7) ] ) );

end
endgenerate

Such a code gives the following error during elaboration: