The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 19th, 2024, 9:16am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Is level convertor same as dc-dc convertor ? (Read 3650 times)
kanu

Is level convertor same as dc-dc convertor ?
Dec 17th, 2010, 7:43am

Hi All,

I have a doubt. I am working on dc-dc to convertor for low voltage applications. I am basically new to this topic. But I have earlier worked on level convertor for subthreshold circuit. I was just wondering if both level convertor and dc-dc convertor same ? Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks,
Kanu

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: Is level convertor same as dc-dc convertor ?
Reply #1 - Dec 18th, 2010, 11:50pm

hi kanu,
there are many kinds of dc -dc converter like buck,boost and buck-boost. Which one you are discussing? and moreover level converter is different from dc to dc converter. Mainly DC to DC converter works like V0=V1*(duty cycle). So based on duty cycle you can get any multiple of input voltage. Level shifter converts from one supply to another supply, i guess here you dot have programmable output voltage.

Thanks.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
Jacki

Reply #2 - May 8th, 2014, 3:56pm

raja.cedt wrote on Dec 18th, 2010, 11:50pm:
hi kanu,
there are many kinds of dc -dc converter like buck,boost and buck-boost. Which one you are discussing? and moreover level converter is different from dc to dc converter. Mainly DC to DC converter works like V0=V1*(duty cycle). So based on duty cycle you can get any multiple of input voltage. Level shifter converts from one supply to another supply, i guess here you dot have programmable output voltage.

Thanks.

Hi Raja,