The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 3rd, 2024, 9:22am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
S/H ciruit noise (Read 3641 times)
summi
Community Member

S/H ciruit noise
Oct 13th, 2011, 6:51am

hi,
i am new to analog design, i am just reading S/H noise, i came to know that irrespective of relation between switching time period and o/p time constant integrated noise is KT/C, i want to know why it is independt of the this relation?

Thanks,
Summi.

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: S/H ciruit noise
Reply #1 - Oct 13th, 2011, 7:25am

hello,
Integrated noise is the area under the PSD, and so even if your switching frequency lower than ckt BW or otherwise you get same area, but only diference is if SW frequency is lower tahn the BW you get flat PSD because of uncorrelation in the othercase you get low pass PSD due to correlation.

Hope this helps,
raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
HdrChopper
Community Fellow

Reply #2 - Oct 18th, 2011, 6:52am

Noise PSD is set by the switch resistor. Thus there is no switching involved.
Now, depending on the switching rate, the output noise PSD might look flat or colored (low pass like) as raja suggested, but the total power has to be the same as the input one, since no noise power was dissipated in any load (the cap stores such energy and does not dissipates it).
Thus when integrating the resulting output noise, the total power will be the same and equal to KT/C.

Best
Tosei

Keep it simple
View Profile   IP Logged
RobG
Community Fellow

Bozeman, MT
Reply #3 - Oct 18th, 2011, 2:46pm