The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 17th, 2024, 7:27am
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
highly linear current mirrors (Read 17974 times)
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: highly linear current mirrors
Reply #15 - Dec 30th, 2011, 2:47pm

hello robg,
yaa, with opamp it kills BW, but it wont add much noise because noise of the opamp will be again cascode noise
what i mean is it gives better results compared to all from matching point of view.  Bottom line is resistive degeneration better.

Thanks,
raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
sandman
Community Member

Reply #16 - Jan 2nd, 2012, 2:56am

raja.cedt wrote on Dec 30th, 2011, 10:13am:
hello sandman,
why don't you post some rough sketch of your complete ckt. I am not that good at mixers. But being a analog guy i can comment on CM and opamps.

Coming to current mirrors what do you mean by linearity, i mean increase the input current and check at the o/p current plot these two and check the ratio and till what point of input current your gain drops till 1 db or some margin. Coming to current mirror if you keep on increasing current, Vov start increase and this intern effects the mirroring ration, if you are facing this problem i would have a cascode or some vds matching. Did you tried like this. One more thing whats the max input current of your current mirror?

Till now i didn't find any papers on CM noise, could you please tell me those names...

Thanks,
Raj.

Hi Raj,

I'm still working on sketching out an intelligent representation for my mixer, but it is just at I described in my messages above. If I can manage it, I will try to post a schematic sometime soon...