The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Sep 9th, 2024, 1:18pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
transconductance of OTA? (Read 2686 times)
Ziad

transconductance of OTA?
Jan 16th, 2012, 7:31am

Hello guys
i am new member here and i am very new in OrCAD PSPICE
i have designed an OTA but i do not know how to simulate the most important character of it, gm.

i have read what you wrote about this but i did not understand  :'(

could you help me fast please  ::)

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: transconductance of OTA?
Reply #1 - Jan 16th, 2012, 10:38am

Connect OTA output to an voltage source whose value equal to OTA o/p common mode. And through Ac simulation find the current through voltage source. That's all.

Thanks,
Raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
Ziad

Reply #2 - Jan 17th, 2012, 1:14am

raja.cedt wrote on Jan 16th, 2012, 10:38am:
Connect OTA output to an voltage source whose value equal to OTA o/p common mode. And through Ac simulation find the current through voltage source. That's all.

Thanks,
Raj.

Thank you Raj. but i told you i am very newby in modeling  :-[ so could you please tell me:

what is o/p common mode? i want to simulate OTA with differential input..
should my input be DC or AC

View Profile   IP Logged
A Kumar R
Community Member

India
Reply #3 - Jan 19th, 2012, 2:14am

hi,

As Raja answered, connect OTA in unity-gain mode. once you have done that you will be able to measure all the parameters that you want.

common-mode is the range of voltages that we need to have (either at input or output) such that the performance of the OTA will not deviate form the assumptions that we make during the analysis (such as "all devices are in sat." for example). common-mode will be the important specification if the circuit is driven by or driving any stage.