The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 31st, 2024, 3:17am
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
No Peaking with Transient Response with PM of 66 degre (Read 9641 times)
Ricky Chen
Community Member

No Peaking with Transient Response with PM of 66 degre
Apr 29th, 2012, 1:15pm

I designed a 2-stage Miller compensated CLASS-AB OTA.
The exact schematic is attached.
I found the differential mode Phase margin using Middlebrook method.
I got a PM of 67 degree. The AC response is attached.
When I gave a step input I am NOT seeing any peaking at the 1st OTA output. Actually I should see a slight peaking with 67 PM.
Can anybody tell why there is NO peaking at the output.
The transient response is also attched

OTA.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
Ricky Chen
Community Member

Re: No Peaking with Transient Response with PM of 66 degre
Reply #1 - Apr 29th, 2012, 1:16pm

The AC response

PM_and_LOOP_GAIN_PLOT.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
Ricky Chen
Community Member

Reply #2 - Apr 29th, 2012, 1:18pm

The Transient response attached

TRANSIENT_RESPONSE.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
buddypoor
Community Fellow

Bremen, Germany
Reply #3 - Apr 29th, 2012, 11:08pm

Hi Ricky,

1.) I suppose the shown ac magnitude respose is the loop gain, correct?
Why didn't you show the phase response?
2.) Are you sure that the loop gain was simulated correctly? According to the slope of the magnitude response at unity gain the phase margin should me much lower (perhaps 45-50 deg).
3.) Does the step response belong to the closed loop circuit?

LvW (buddypoor: In memory of the great late Buddy Rich)
View Profile   IP Logged
Ricky Chen
Community Member

Reply #4 - Apr 29th, 2012, 11:22pm

buddypoor wrote on Apr 29th, 2012, 11:08pm:
Hi Ricky,

2.) Are you sure that the loop gain was simulated correctly? According to the slope of the magnitude response at unity gain the phase margin should me much lower (perhaps 45-50 deg).