The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 18th, 2024, 8:18am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
DLL questions (Read 3519 times)
Evgenii
Community Member

DLL questions
Apr 22nd, 2013, 7:45am

Hi Folks!  :)
Maybe this post more suitable for Digital Design,  but anyway  i'm try...
I'm new in design of Delay Locked Loop, and i already have schematic solution .  
After simulation i see some strange behavior, which i can not a explain...
First of all,  criterion of lock DLL (startup time) is absence of pulses (pulses are generated by PD), these pulses 'tells' to CP in which direction needs to realign VCDL. But on low frequences (some corners) i see that both pulses are presented in end-of-simulation and NO trend to decreasing one of them..What is it? Autooscillations of DLL? How to explain this problem and to solve...To solve I tried to increase capacitor in CP circuit, anyway it blindest solution...
On high frequences i see absence one of pulses, is good, but another pulse no  disappear, he decreased to final  amplitude. I think that is no problem, if propose, what she is smaller than treshold of transistor, and CP doesn't work with this amplitude.
I some disapointed Sad, may all of this artefact of transients simulation, but precision is highest... May be is my misunderstanding in optimal parameters of CP pull up/pull down current, CP capacitor , frequency ranges of DLL.
Thanks for help! Smiley      

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: DLL questions
Reply #1 - Apr 22nd, 2013, 8:00am

Hello,
Please explain  in-detail, better show show some PD,CP results or up and down pulse....without it is very tough to imagine your problem. Any how i guess you have problem with your PD, so please run a transient Sim and check weather output is in-phase or not. If they are not then i would say you better replace PD with-some verilog-A model and check the sim.

Raj.