The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 16th, 2024, 9:26pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
L or Pi network in RF power amplifier (Read 5015 times)
baab

EA
L or Pi network in RF power amplifier
Sep 03rd, 2013, 9:15pm

I am studying PA from the paper "Design of 2.1GHz RF CMOS Power Amplifier for 3G" And I will simulate it in Cadence.
The paper use a single-ended two-stage Class AB PA in TSMC 0.25μm CMOS process. Here is one thing that I am confused. Please help.

L_network_paper.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
baab

EA
Re: L or Pi network in RF power amplifier
Reply #1 - Sep 3rd, 2013, 9:18pm

Here is the paper.  Sorry I can't attach two files in a post.

View Profile   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Reply #2 - Sep 3rd, 2013, 9:25pm

Hi,

I guess most likely L3 is very large and doesn't affect the matching. If you include L3 in the matching, then it would be a pi network, and bandwidth would be degraded compared to an L-match.

regards,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
baab

EA
Reply #3 - Sep 3rd, 2013, 10:36pm

Thank you, Aaron.
What is the difference between L3 and L4? I think they play the same role, RF chokes.
L3 used to bias VGS and L4 is used to bias VDS. The desired values for L3, L4 is inductance as much as possible and other parasitics as small as possible.
Is there any difference in criteria in choosing value for L3 and L4?

View Profile   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Reply #4 - Sep 4th, 2013, 6:11am

Hi,

If we use C and L3 for the match we get a step-up network, and if we use C and L4 we get a step down network.

To get good efficiency and linearity, you want the swing at the drain of M1 to be large, and the swing at the gate of M0 to be small. Hence you need a step-down network. However, bear in mind that this comes at the cost of gain.