The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 16th, 2024, 4:40pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What happens after the ADC in a wireless receiver...? (Read 3432 times)
solanojedi

What happens after the ADC in a wireless receiver...?
Jun 10th, 2014, 1:04am

Hi everyone,
this question is probably off topic but I'll try.
I'm an analog RF designer, mostly involved in analog blocks design for wireless communications (LNA, mixers, op amp etc...). I was just curious (and ignorant...) about what happens to the digitized received signal in a receiver, after the ADC. For me, the digital baseband is still a mistery.

Could you suggest me some books or papers that describe what happens and could be useful and understandable for an analog designer?
Thanks a lot in any case!

View Profile   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Re: What happens after the ADC in a wireless receiver...?
Reply #1 - Jun 11th, 2014, 10:32pm

Hi,

I don't know very much about it, but I recommend you read about communications networks and the OSI model layers. I guess you're most interested in the PHY layer which directly follows the ADC.

regards,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
solanojedi

Reply #2 - Jun 12th, 2014, 3:50am

Hi aaron_do,
thank you for your reply. Yes, I'm actually interested in the (even conceptual) operations that follows the digital conversion of the signal (like the role of the matched filter: it is always present? Nowadays is implemented in the digital domain?).
Actually I found this book that seems to cover these topics, but probably from a 'system' or 'high-level' point of view: http://books.google.it/books?id=Icq1bNpr3xUC&printsec=frontcover&hl=it#v=onepage...

View Profile   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Reply #3 - Jun 12th, 2014, 5:50pm

Hi solanojedi,