The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 28th, 2024, 2:08pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Requesting LO buffer phase noise simulation information (Read 1827 times)
rlm584

Requesting LO buffer phase noise simulation information
Jan 27th, 2015, 9:13am

I have been using Spectre for a few years, but I'm new to Spectre RF.  Please be gentle.

I am designing an LO buffer intended to drive a mixer.  One of the requirements that must be checked is that the buffer does not significantly degrade defined system phase noise performance.  Could someone please take a moment to explain how to do this properly?  I am trying to help myself by reading the Spectre RF manual, but I am not at all confident in my use of the tool yet.  The only related posting I have found on this topic is http://www.designers-guide.org/Forum/YaBB.pl?num=1386865117, where Mr. Kundert states that mixers (LO input implied) are thresholding devices and suggests an appropriate analysis type.  Unfortunately, no procedural details are included.  Other forum topics cover jitter for driven circuits, but not phase noise.  Please provide enough detail so that someone new can follow;  some of the PNOISE and Direct Plot form entries are still a bit mysterious to me.

What would change if a divider is included?

Best regards...

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Re: Requesting LO buffer phase noise simulation information
Reply #1 - Jan 27th, 2015, 9:33pm