The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 19th, 2024, 2:51pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
LNA output matching (Read 3561 times)
Ata Sarrafi

LNA output matching
Mar 04th, 2016, 6:34am

Hello guys,

I have been busy with a problem for couple of days. I will be more than grateful if you help me with this.

I am new in RF design and I am trying to simulate a simple LNA with ADS. My problem is, I do not want to match my LNA's output to 50ohm because, it is in the chip and it will be connected to mixer.

My question is, when I put terminal at the output of LNA what should be the Z of terminal. Without output terminal I am not able to observe noise and some other parameters. I can just plot S11  >:(

best,

Ata

lna1.png
View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Re: LNA output matching
Reply #1 - Mar 4th, 2016, 10:38am

why don't you figure out what the impedance of the next stage looks like and use it?

#commonsense

Jerry Twomey
www.effectiveelectrons.com
Read My Electronic Design Column Here
Contract IC-PCB-System Design - Analog, Mixed Signal, RF & Medical
View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Ata Sarrafi

Reply #2 - Mar 4th, 2016, 10:46am

Yes i tried. The problem is, I want to use mixer after lna, therefore my next stage will be the gate of transistor. I found rf nmos transistor input impedance at 1Ghz and it is like a+bj. But problem is, here a equals 600 ohm which again requires matching. I cant understand why they say inside chip we dont need matching. In high frequencies like 1GHz input impedance drops from 1 meg to 600 !!!! Im totally confused.

View Profile   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Reply #3 - Mar 5th, 2016, 2:17pm