The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 13th, 2024, 12:35am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help on Pipeline ADC design (Read 1222 times)
forest_rain

Help on Pipeline ADC design
Nov 27th, 2005, 10:02pm

Hello all,
I am just beginning to design pipeline ADC 3 months ago and have many questions.:)

The ADC I am working with is 50MSPs in 0.18um, 12 bit SNDR, 14bit SFDR(Are these specs realistic?). The OTA is telescopic two-stage amplifier. Gain =80dB, settling time around 9n (dynamic settling within 14 bit level).

After I complete the first stage of MDAC, I measured the residue of this MDAC *( because simulating whole pipeline ADC will take forever). To see the non-linearity, I constructed an ideal MDAC output. Then I took the difference of these two outputs. If the simulated output does not have any non-linearity, then the difference should be a flat curve . However, for my case, the difference at the transition (the threshold of comparator) has some discontinuity.  After I modified the cap a little bit ( i.e, change the feedback gain), the discontinuity can be corrected. However, the step between first point and the second point after the transition is much larger than it should be.   It shows as a big spike on the curve of the difference.  The input I tried is down ramp and up ramp signal. This spike showed up after every transition.

Do you have any idea on where this spike coming from? Any feedback will be highly appreciated! I have struggled for this about 3 weeks .

Thanks, rain

View Profile   IP Logged
Sid
Community Member

Re: Help on Pipeline ADC design
Reply #1 - Nov 28th, 2005, 7:55pm

Hello Rain,

I am not sure I understand everything you say, but I will give you a few pointters.