The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 5th, 2024, 8:02am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Silicon Area calculation from Schematic (Read 5406 times)
silicon_holmes

Let there be light

Bangalore
Silicon Area calculation from Schematic
Feb 17th, 2006, 1:56am

hi, i'm relatively new to the analog layout field. I'm facing a problem now. i have a set of schematics with me to do the layout. before that is done, the PD team need the abstract views of those blocks to do P&R.

Is there any way to do this? i use a cadence DF2 platform. when i use the Floor plan/ Schematic option in the composer, i need an area calculation SKILL function in place. i dont have anything like that now.

will anybody help me on this topic.

Thanks and regards,

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow

Life, don't talk to
me about Life...

Bracknell, UK
Re: Silicon Area calculation from Schematic
Reply #1 - Feb 18th, 2006, 6:33am

Yes, read the manual. I'm pretty certain this is covered in the Preview documentation.

Regards,

Andrew.

silicon_holmes

Let there be light

Bangalore
Reply #2 - Feb 19th, 2006, 8:13pm

Hi Andrew,

thanks for your reply. but i'm still at loss. is it possible for you to be more specific about those documents. i had a talk with a cadence person. according to him it is not possible to create LEF views from schematic.
my doubt is that, can i produce some sort of estimation from the schematic that can be used by the P&R tool? what is the general method used in the industry in these kind of situations?
i have access to Virtuoso XL layout editor. it is giving some area estimate when i use gen from source option. i'm not sure about the accuracy of that estimate.

thanks in advance

Andrew Beckett
Senior Fellow

Life, don't talk to
me about Life...

Bracknell, UK
Reply #3 - Feb 20th, 2006, 9:11am