The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 8:18pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sample and hold clock bootstrap (Read 6802 times)
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Sample and hold clock bootstrap
Oct 16th, 2013, 2:20am

Hi all,

for a medium speed high resolution ADC, around 200 MSamples/s and 14-bit, do we normally bootstrap the sample and hold switch, or should I just oversize the sampling switch so that it can settle sufficiently under all conditions? Also, does anybody know any good references for bootstrapping the switch?

thanks,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Re: Sample and hold clock bootstrap
Reply #1 - Oct 16th, 2013, 2:48am

I am not an expert in this field, but with over sizing the switch you will reduce the R but you will not solve signal dependent resister which impact linearity.

Please have a look on this video, well treatment!!!

http://nptel.iitm.ac.in/courses/117106034/7
http://nptel.iitm.ac.in/courses/117106034/8

Thanks,
Raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
aaron_do
Senior Fellow

Reply #2 - Oct 16th, 2013, 5:43pm

Hi Raj.,

thanks. I will check out the videos when I can. I figured that if my switch is big enough, then the linearity will not be an issue. For instance, as long as it settles to less than LSB/2, then any nonlinearity will be indistinguishable from the quantization noise. I believe it will add to the quantization noise, but again, if its small enough, there won't be much impact.

Anyway it seems you're saying bootstrapping is a good idea.

thanks,
Aaron

there is no energy in matter other than that received from the environment - Nikola Tesla
View Profile   IP Logged
Lazarus

Reply #3 - Oct 17th, 2013, 10:26am

Aaron,