The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Aug 26th, 2024, 3:20pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How much of the charge pump current should be used for a PLL (Read 3283 times)
zczc999

How much of the charge pump current should be used for a PLL
Mar 27th, 2015, 4:48am

Hello,

I am new to PLL design. I have a question that which level of charge pump current is suitable for a pll.

I know the current should meet the requirement of bandwidth, damping, etc. But which order of magnitude is preferable, say 10uA, 20uA, 50uA, or 100uA, considering matching, noise. Now I am using a 15uA charge pump, I don't know if it is too small.

And the current has glitches at the edge of switching signals. The glitch is about 30uA. Will this has big affect on phase noise?

BTW, to eliminate the deadzone of PFD, a delay will insert at the reset path. Usually how much delay is added? I think the smaller the better, as long as the pulse can turn on/off the switches, so I am using about 200ps. Am I right?

Thanks

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Re: How much of the charge pump current should be used for a PLL
Reply #1 - Mar 27th, 2015, 2:58pm

The charge pump current directly affects the gain of the loop, and hence its stability. Among any other constraints, the charge pump current is chosen to satisfy stability requirements.

-Ken

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
loose-electron
Senior Fellow

Best Design Tool =
Capable Designers

San Diego California
Reply #2 - Mar 27th, 2015, 8:53pm

Charge pump current is interactively traded off against loop filter parameters. Higher currents mean bigger loop filter capacitors.

Now, what happens, is that the charge pump current can be scaled so that the charge injection of the current steering switches is insignificant in comparison to the charge pump current.

Jerry Twomey
www.effectiveelectrons.com
Read My Electronic Design Column Here